FFA confirm betting companies to decide A-League winner

The FFA has confirmed that a consortium of betting companies will decide all 10 positions of the A-League’s end of season table along with the Grand Final winner.

It comes after the Head of the A-League, Damien de Bohun, confirmed Perth Glory would finish 7th and not last despite clear breaches of the league’s salary cap. The decision was justified in order to ensure betting companies did not have to pay out punters who in light of the rumours had bet on Perth to finish last.

The consortium of betting companies which includes TAB and William Hill welcomed the news.

“It’s fantastic! We’ll probably have the Mariners winning the whole thing because no one bet on that. It hasn’t been confirmed but we’re looking at having North Queensland Fury finish second. They haven’t been in the comp for four seasons so we’ll have literally zero payouts,” said consortium spokesman, Warren D. Jenerate.

Mr de Bohun said the decision was about ‘maintaining the integrity of the competition’; however linguistic experts contacted by The Sauce were unfamiliar with de Bohun’s use of ‘integrity’.

Although the winner has not been officially announced by the consortium, they were able to confirm that Tom Waterhouse would finish the season as top goal scorer.